

AAO RESIDENT OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Resident of the Year award is conferred by the Academy to recognize the resident who has contributed to the Academy, has contributed to osteopathic principles and practices at his/her residency program, and who has participated in Academy events, including, but not limited to, AAO Convocation, AOA OMED conference, and/or AAO educational programs.

Nominated individuals exhibit osteopathic principles and practices at their residency programs and encourage other residents, faculty and students to continue to use osteopathic principles and practice during their residency career and practice. An application with a brief description/essay of why this individual is deserving of this award is submitted to the AAO Awards Committee.

An AAO component society or AOA approved osteopathic residency program may submit only one (1) nomination per organization or residency program. All residency programs are encouraged to nominate their top candidate each year. Previous nominations have been received from the following programs. NMM/OMM Residency at Michigan State University; Combined Family Medicine and Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine Residency Northeast Regional Medical Center, Kirksville, Missouri; University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine NMM/OMM + 1 Residency Program; and the Florida Hospital - East Orlando (FHEO) Integrated Family Medicine/Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine.

Past Recipients

- 2022 Amber M. Brown, DO, MS, Maine Medical Center in Portland
- 2020 Frank Patrick Goodman, DO, MS, Oklahoma State University Medical Center in Tulsa
- 2019 Malinda M. Hansen, DO, University of North Texas Health Center in Fort Worth
- 2018 Jacob J. Cukierski, DO, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine Health Medical Associates of Erie
- 2017 Lauren J. Leslie, DO, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
- 2016 Kristie M. Petree, DO, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
- 2015 Catherine B. Donahue, DO, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
- 2014 Eileen M. Conaway, DO, Florida Hospital East Orlando
- 2013 Michael A. Chipman, DO, Kingman Regional Medical Center
- 2012 Leslie M. Ching, DO, Doctors Hospital Family Practice Residency and Oklahoma State University-CHS
- 2011 Sarah J. James, DO, Columbia Saint Mary's Osteopathic Family Medicine Residency
- 2010 Teodor Huzij, DO, University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine



AAO Resident of the Year Award

Personal Statement

The nominee shall provide a personal statement of not more than one page. It should illustrate why the nominee feels he/she is qualified to receive this award. It should demonstrate how the nominee meets the eligibility criteria: commitment to osteopathic philosophy and the profession; leadership skills and demonstrated use of these skills; noteworthy accomplishments demonstrating his/her role as a leader; demonstrated contributions in osteopathic organizations, such as teaching, committee work, and national associations; and his/her outstanding character and drive to be a leader. It should also highlight activities and/or experiences that may add to the individual's worthiness to receive this award. The AAO Awards Committee would like to know what the nominee's future goals may be in respect to leadership within the osteopathic profession and what steps have been taken toward exploring and realizing those goals.

Letters of Recommendation from the Nominator

The letters of recommendation should demonstrate why the nominee should receive this award.

• The letter from the Nominator shall state why this nominee was chosen for this award and demonstrate how the individual meets the eligibility criteria.

Packet Checklist

Use the checklist below to make certain the nomination packet is complete:

- Completed Nomination Form Letter from the Nominator
- Personal statement Resume or Curriculum Vitae
- Proof of current membership in the AOA and the AAO

Mail Completed Packet by November 30th to:

American Academy of Osteopathy 3500 DePauw Blvd., Suite 1100 Indianapolis, Indiana 46268-1136 Attn: Awards

Additional Information:

For additional information or to receive an e-mail copy of this document, please contact AAO Office (317) 879-1881



Nomination for AAO Resident Physician Award

Nomination Form

This	section	to be	comp	leted	by the	nominee:

Nominee:		AOA#:
Mailing Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Daytime Telephone:	Fax:	
Daytime Telephone: (check one) Home:	Office: Ce	11:
E-Mail:		
Specialty:		
Signature of		Date:
Nominee:		

This section to be completed by the nominator:

Nominator:			
Title:	Organizations:		
Address:			
City:	State:	Zip:	
Telephone:	Fax:		
E-Mail:			

Nominator - Please use letterhead if possible for letter of recommendation